Posted in news on August 26, 2015 1:40 pm EDT

Community Alliance Awards to Acknowledge Contributions to Built Environment

The program honors the individuals, firms, and organizations whose work, leadership, and dedication shape the vibrancy of our communities -- as well as the future of the built environment.











Sign up for our bi-monthly newsletter Designer Today to stay up to date with all we do at Designer and with what's going on in the field of house of worship architecture.


TAGS: achieverment, architecture, building, business, community, design,


By Church Designer Staff

AIA San Francisco announces the expansion of its distinguished Design Awards program with the introduction of Community Alliance Awards.

Ten award categories aim to acknowledge individuals and organizations for their contributions to the community and the enrichment of the quality of life in the Bay Area through their commitment to design excellence. Their continued efforts to engage, educate, collaborate, and advocate elevates the value of design and its impact on the experiences of our daily lives.

"Countless individuals across a multitude of disciplines help to influence the structures that define the city in which we live by the work that they do every day; we are excited to ... honor their achievements and contributions."

—Jennifer Jones, AIASF Executive Director

Nominations will be reviewed by a jury consisting of prominent members of the community including Julie Christensen of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, Tim Culvahouse, FAIA of CulvaHOUSE, John King of the San Francisco Chronicle, and Adrianne Steichen, AIA of Pyatok Architecture + Urban Design. Award recipients will be honored at a banquet in early December at the California College of the Arts Perry Family Event Center.

Award categories include: Alliance Award, Emerging Professional Award, Education Award, Mentor Award, Student Award, Firm Achievement Award, Social Impact Award, Local Government Award, Chapter Service Award, and Revitalization Award. Full descriptions of each award category are available online at (visit link).

Submissions will be accepted through September 16, 2015. (visit link) for complete information and to submit your nominations.




Learn more about the companies in this story:

American Institute of Architects (AIA)



What people are saying


 Add your comment:


Remember my personal information

Notify me of follow-up comments?


Please enter the word you see in the image below: