Primary Blog Feed from DesignerPub.com An aggregation of blogs and bloggers from DesignerPub.com http://www.designerpub.com/rss/blogs Tue, 28 Mar 2017 11:57:31 EDT Copyright (c) 2017, PMI Publishing ExpressionEngine 2.7.3 Can You Fast-Track or Value-Engineer Creative Thinking? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/can-you-fast-track-or-value-engineer-creative-thinking http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/can-you-fast-track-or-value-engineer-creative-thinking Fri, 24 Mar 2017 15:00:00 EDT Not successfully, our Church Designer sources and readers report. Projects turn out best when all relevant design experts are called in for input at the earliest stages of design. A Church Architect’s Home: Passive Solar Design in Action http://www.designerpub.com/columns/an-arizona-church-architects-home-passive-solar-design-in-action http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/an-arizona-church-architects-home-passive-solar-design-in-action Tue, 31 Jan 2017 09:22:00 EST Church architect Kenn Sanders has designed and consulted on the master plans of churches across the country for years. Here, he shares how his home's site, orientation and components work with Arizona's climate to harness energy efficiently. Our Gift to You: Sacred Heart Cathedral of Kericho, Nairobi, Kenya http://www.designerpub.com/columns/our-gift-to-you-sacred-heart-cathedral-of-kericho-nairobi-kenya http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/our-gift-to-you-sacred-heart-cathedral-of-kericho-nairobi-kenya Thu, 08 Dec 2016 09:28:00 EST Our NovDec 2016 issue is designed to show our appreciation of the architectural design of modern sacred spaces and the AVL that inhabits them -- helping bring worship to life through sight and sound. Getting to Inbox Zero http://www.designerpub.com/columns/getting-to-inbox-zero http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/getting-to-inbox-zero Tue, 25 Oct 2016 12:23:00 EDT How to create your own system for increased productivity -- something every busy AEC can use. Children’s Ministry Design: Story, System and Surprise http://www.designerpub.com/columns/childrens-ministry-design-story-system-and-surp http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/childrens-ministry-design-story-system-and-surp Wed, 12 Oct 2016 13:26:00 EDT First and foremost, a children's ministry must speak to kids. Here, how design can help facilitate that communication. The Power of Light http://www.designerpub.com/columns/the-power-of-light http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/the-power-of-light Mon, 12 Sep 2016 11:14:00 EDT How do you as church designers create with light, helping your clients to channel it and control it? The Power of Teamwork http://www.designerpub.com/columns/the-power-of-teamwork http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/the-power-of-teamwork Thu, 28 Jul 2016 14:03:00 EDT The AIA's Knowledge Leadership Assembly (KLA) draws on the power of collaboration to make architectural projects, and ultimately communities, stronger. When Architecture and Technology Join Forces http://www.designerpub.com/columns/when-architecture-and-technology-join-forces http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/when-architecture-and-technology-join-forces Wed, 29 Jun 2016 11:49:00 EDT Modern churches are filled with seamlessly operating and oftentimes invisibly hidden technology -- from video screens to line array loudspeakers to security cameras. Why is this important to you as a designer of sacred space? A Child’s Best Hour: Why Churches Must Value the Experiential http://www.designerpub.com/columns/a-childs-best-hour-why-churches-must-value-the-experiential http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/a-childs-best-hour-why-churches-must-value-the-experiential Tue, 28 Jun 2016 09:07:00 EDT From murals to illustration to all that is experiential -- art can resonate with children and families for its uplifting, friendly nature. And as designers and creators of children's spaces, we can help drive home this truth. From Ashes http://www.designerpub.com/columns/from-ashes http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/from-ashes Thu, 28 Apr 2016 12:28:00 EDT Architect Lisa Masteller shares a deeply personal story of challenge and change. Remaining faithful in the depth of hardship can foster the strength and growth to push through all unforeseen circumstances. Starting Your Own Firm (and Succeeding) http://www.designerpub.com/columns/starting-your-own-firm-and-succeeding http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/starting-your-own-firm-and-succeeding Thu, 21 Apr 2016 14:33:00 EDT A veteran church-focused architect shares tips for starting your own firm and specializing in the project type(s) what you love. Get Clad at Coverings2016: The Global Tile & Stone Experience http://www.designerpub.com/columns/get-clad-at-coverings-2016-the-global-tile-stone-experience http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/get-clad-at-coverings-2016-the-global-tile-stone-experience Wed, 20 Apr 2016 10:24:00 EDT The Coverings tradeshow landed in Chicago this week, April 18-21, 2016, at McCormick Place, bringing more than 20,000 industry professionals, 100 exhibitors from over 40 countries, and at least nine miles of the latest trends and traditions in tile and stone. Telling Stories http://www.designerpub.com/columns/telling-stories http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/telling-stories Mon, 04 Apr 2016 09:40:00 EDT If you're looking to market your firm's services or your own if you work independently, you must reclaim the lost art of storytelling. It’s a God Thing. Can You Relate? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/its-a-god-thing http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/its-a-god-thing Tue, 08 Mar 2016 09:33:00 EST A 40+-year veteran of church architecture and master planning shares insight into how projects ultimately work for the larger good of a community, despite sometimes running up against seemingly insurmountable challenges. Are Churches (and Church Goers) Prisoners of Growth? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/are-churches-and-church-goers-prisoners-of-growth http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/are-churches-and-church-goers-prisoners-of-growth Wed, 24 Feb 2016 14:48:00 EST And more importantly, if so, how can architecture and design help?