Blog Feed from DesignerPub.com - Design and Architecture by Ron Geyer Ron Geyer helps churches—new and old—make smart decisions about the buildings and spaces they inhabit and use in ministry. http://www.designerpub.com/rss/blogs Tue, 28 Mar 2017 11:57:35 EDT Copyright (c) 2017, PMI Publishing ExpressionEngine 2.7.3 Part 2: 4 Tensions That Affect Design for Ministry http://www.designerpub.com/columns/part-2-4-tensions-that-affect-design-for-ministry http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/part-2-4-tensions-that-affect-design-for-ministry Thu, 24 Sep 2015 11:02:00 EDT A look at growth vs. tradition. Does the tension between preserving the good stuff and inviting others into fellowship manifest itself in buildings? 4 Tensions That Affect Design for Ministry http://www.designerpub.com/columns/4-tensions-that-affect-design-for-ministry http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/4-tensions-that-affect-design-for-ministry Mon, 08 Jun 2015 09:46:00 EDT The tension between openness and safety: how to respond to fallen world realities without building bunkers. Church in the Public Square http://www.designerpub.com/columns/church-in-the-public-square http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/church-in-the-public-square Mon, 27 Apr 2015 14:36:00 EDT An architect's take on innovative public space use -- and church -- in Taylors, S.C, called Taylors TownSquare. Church Designer revisits the town's public space experiment and reports. Peer Blog: Venue Vernacular http://www.designerpub.com/columns/peer-blog-buildings-speak http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/peer-blog-buildings-speak Thu, 01 Jan 2015 13:32:00 EST The best designed venues for theatre and music do something similar. Do you know what it is, and do you incorporate it into your own church designs? Imperative Edges http://www.designerpub.com/columns/imperative-edges http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/imperative-edges Tue, 16 Dec 2014 08:47:00 EST A look at the intersection between materials. On a large scale, what's the impact on urban space and church design? Taking the Car to Church http://www.designerpub.com/columns/taking-the-car-to-church http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/taking-the-car-to-church Mon, 03 Nov 2014 09:44:00 EST How to strategically plan adequate parking for your church projects, amid a sea of varying city ordinances and misconceptions. Life Cycle of a Church-Based School http://www.designerpub.com/columns/life-cycle-of-a-church-based-school http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/life-cycle-of-a-church-based-school Fri, 01 Aug 2014 13:37:00 EDT Architect Ron Geyer covers the cycle that church-based schools seem to fall into: inauguration, maturation, separation, and opposition. Unlovely Buildings http://www.designerpub.com/columns/unlovely-buildings http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/unlovely-buildings Mon, 12 May 2014 23:27:00 EDT An architect and blogger ponders the true cost of compromising with a building's imperfections. Snapshot: Pre-Fab Chapel http://www.designerpub.com/columns/snapshot-pre-fab-chapel http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/snapshot-pre-fab-chapel Wed, 19 Mar 2014 17:50:00 EDT A glimpse at the making of Revival Sunset Chapel Viewpoint: Architects are not Artists http://www.designerpub.com/columns/viewpoint-architects-are-not-artists http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/viewpoint-architects-are-not-artists Wed, 05 Jun 2013 15:37:00 EDT The best architects are expert servants. They’re problem solvers armed with boards, bricks and passion. Still, too many people, including architects, regard design professionals only as artists—a kind of aesthetic savant brought in to make the technical stuff look pretty.