Blog Feed from DesignerPub.com - From the Editor by Carol Badaracco-Padgett Carol is the editor of Designer magazine and senior associate editor of Church Production Magazine. She has written and reported on commercial construction, architecture, green building and sustainability, and church and culture for the past 24 years. http://www.designerpub.com/rss/blogs Mon, 26 Jun 2017 09:58:31 EDT Copyright (c) 2017, PMI Publishing ExpressionEngine 2.7.3 Can You Fast-Track or Value-Engineer Creative Thinking? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/can-you-fast-track-or-value-engineer-creative-thinking http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/can-you-fast-track-or-value-engineer-creative-thinking Fri, 24 Mar 2017 15:00:00 EDT Not successfully, our Church Designer sources and readers report. Projects turn out best when all relevant design experts are called in for input at the earliest stages of design. Our Gift to You: Sacred Heart Cathedral of Kericho, Nairobi, Kenya http://www.designerpub.com/columns/our-gift-to-you-sacred-heart-cathedral-of-kericho-nairobi-kenya http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/our-gift-to-you-sacred-heart-cathedral-of-kericho-nairobi-kenya Thu, 08 Dec 2016 09:28:00 EST Our NovDec 2016 issue is designed to show our appreciation of the architectural design of modern sacred spaces and the AVL that inhabits them -- helping bring worship to life through sight and sound. The Power of Light http://www.designerpub.com/columns/the-power-of-light http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/the-power-of-light Mon, 12 Sep 2016 11:14:00 EDT How do you as church designers create with light, helping your clients to channel it and control it? The Power of Teamwork http://www.designerpub.com/columns/the-power-of-teamwork http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/the-power-of-teamwork Thu, 28 Jul 2016 14:03:00 EDT The AIA's Knowledge Leadership Assembly (KLA) draws on the power of collaboration to make architectural projects, and ultimately communities, stronger. When Architecture and Technology Join Forces http://www.designerpub.com/columns/when-architecture-and-technology-join-forces http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/when-architecture-and-technology-join-forces Wed, 29 Jun 2016 11:49:00 EDT Modern churches are filled with seamlessly operating and oftentimes invisibly hidden technology -- from video screens to line array loudspeakers to security cameras. Why is this important to you as a designer of sacred space? Telling Stories http://www.designerpub.com/columns/telling-stories http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/telling-stories Mon, 04 Apr 2016 09:40:00 EDT If you're looking to market your firm's services or your own if you work independently, you must reclaim the lost art of storytelling. It’s All About Connection ... http://www.designerpub.com/columns/its-all-about-connection http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/its-all-about-connection Wed, 20 Jan 2016 09:47:00 EST As technology takes over in the way our devices -- and we ourselves -- communicate, is that a good thing? It can be if we let it. It can enhance greater connection all the way around. Church Buildings Aren’t What They Used to Be—They’re More http://www.designerpub.com/columns/church-buildings-arent-what-they-used-to-be.-theyre-more http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/church-buildings-arent-what-they-used-to-be.-theyre-more Thu, 13 Aug 2015 09:14:00 EDT Architects, engineers and consultants work in disciplines that are intertwined -- "enter-twined" if you take into consideration the worship and performance space aspects of modern churches. Ideas Converge at InfoComm 2015 http://www.designerpub.com/columns/idea-convergence-at-infocomm-2015 http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/idea-convergence-at-infocomm-2015 Mon, 01 Jun 2015 11:16:00 EDT It's an exciting time to be an architect as building design merges with AVL technology and Internet control. The Promise of 2015 is Looming Large. Are You Ready? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/the-promise-of-2015-is-looming-large.-are-you-ready http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/the-promise-of-2015-is-looming-large.-are-you-ready Thu, 05 Feb 2015 09:31:00 EST Economic indicators, construction business reports, and an informal Church Designer survey align in their findings--2015 can be a turnaround year for church-designing AECs. Does a Dichotomy Exist in Church Design Today? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/does-a-dichotomy-exist-in-church-designer-today http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/does-a-dichotomy-exist-in-church-designer-today Mon, 20 Oct 2014 11:29:00 EDT Reports of small, intimate venues being on the rise clash with reports of renovation at thriving mega-churches. So which is it, or is it both? What Can a Pastor and Former NFL Player Teach You About Design? http://www.designerpub.com/columns/what-can-a-pastor-and-former-nfl-football-player-teach-you-about-design http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/what-can-a-pastor-and-former-nfl-football-player-teach-you-about-design Thu, 02 Oct 2014 10:18:00 EDT This editor thinks he can help prime your mind for better 21st-century church space design. Here's why. Design Helps Raise Up a New Generation http://www.designerpub.com/columns/design-helps-raise-up-a-new-generation http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/design-helps-raise-up-a-new-generation Fri, 08 Aug 2014 10:43:00 EDT What can an architect learn at a church-focused conference? Plenty. And they can get life-changing work, as well. Case in point: Kampala, Uganda. Interfaith Intercessions http://www.designerpub.com/columns/interfaith-intercessions http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/interfaith-intercessions Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:00:00 EDT What does interfaith mean to you, as an architect, engineer, or consultant? It Happened in a Sacred Space ... http://www.designerpub.com/columns/it-happened-in-a-sacred-space http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/it-happened-in-a-sacred-space Fri, 04 Apr 2014 11:22:00 EDT Designer's editor describes a chance encounter with a member of the Gandhi family at Atlanta's Martin Luther King Jr. International Chapel, and shares intimate impressions.