News from DesignerPub.com News, practices, tools and materials for faith-based spaces http://www.designerpub.com/rss Fri, 15 Dec 2017 01:31:11 EST Copyright (c) 2017, PMI Publishing ExpressionEngine 2.7.3 Visual Backdrop Uplifts Worship in South Africa http://www.designerpub.com/news/visual-backdrop-uplifts-worship-in-south-africa http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/visual-backdrop-uplifts-worship-in-south-africa Wed, 13 Dec 2017 18:18:00 EST Designer JP Willson of Unfazed Productions uses Chauvet Professional Rogue R2 Wash fixtures to create a transformative design for a gathering of Christian bands outside Cape Town. AIA Trends & Talking Points for 2018 http://www.designerpub.com/columns/aia-trends-talking-points http://www.designerpub.com.com/columns/aia-trends-talking-points Wed, 13 Dec 2017 12:30:00 EST The Interfaith Forum on Religion, Art and Architecture (IFRAA), a knowledge community of the American Institute of Architects (AIA), represented by members Doug Hanson AIA, ASIC, and Stephen Pickard AIA, NCARB, discloses of-the-moment issues in sacred space design. The Future of Technology—and Engagement http://www.designerpub.com/education/technology-for-churches-where-is-it-going http://www.designerpub.com.com/education/technology-for-churches-where-is-it-going Mon, 11 Dec 2017 15:10:00 EST Technology is fundamentally shifting how people connect and communicate with each other--and that is something churches are incredibly invested in. The question is, how do you design when you don't know where things are going? The answer: there are clues. Roe Visual Launches Black Marble 4 LED Display http://www.designerpub.com/materials/roe-visual-launches-black-marble-4-led-display http://www.designerpub.com.com/materials/roe-visual-launches-black-marble-4-led-display Mon, 04 Dec 2017 15:31:00 EST The black, anti-glare surface is reported to ideally fit various high-end applications, while mix-and-match modules help enhance the creative experience. Iconyx Gen5 Fortifies Mass in Illinois http://www.designerpub.com/news/iconyx-gen5-fortifies-massin-illinois http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/iconyx-gen5-fortifies-massin-illinois Mon, 04 Dec 2017 14:20:00 EST Two 1960s-style column speakers driven by a similarly aged four-channel powered mixer get a modern reboot with Renkus-Heinz technology. Major Transformation Planned for Downtown Charlotte Church http://www.designerpub.com/projects/major-transformation-planned-for-downtown-charlotte-church http://www.designerpub.com.com/projects/major-transformation-planned-for-downtown-charlotte-church Thu, 30 Nov 2017 11:29:00 EST North Carolina's Sharon United Methodist in slated to become the spiritual anchor of SouthPark, a mixed-use community plan that's taking shape. Hillsong Church Adopts Versatile Switcher Option http://www.designerpub.com/news/hillsong-church-adopts-versatile-switcher-option http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/hillsong-church-adopts-versatile-switcher-option Tue, 28 Nov 2017 11:45:00 EST Custom Media Solutions of Cumming, Ga., first introduced the Australian-based church to For-A's equipment when working together to produce an annual conference. The church's production team reports that the switcher option continues its service in both Los Angeles and Cape Town, South Africa. Building Renovation Welcomes Congregation and Community http://www.designerpub.com/news/building-renovation-welcomes-congregation-and-community http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/building-renovation-welcomes-congregation-and-community Tue, 21 Nov 2017 12:18:00 EST The New York Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church (NYAC) gives its building a new look and mission. Absen Debuts Xv-Series LED Display Solution http://www.designerpub.com/materials/absen-debuts-xv-series-led-solution http://www.designerpub.com.com/materials/absen-debuts-xv-series-led-solution Thu, 16 Nov 2017 12:45:00 EST The company's new X3v LED solution is utilized at LDI 2017 at the Las Vegas Convention Center in the HD center video wall's outdoor staging area. Integrator Upgrades Sound at Historic Massachusetts Chapel http://www.designerpub.com/projects/integrator-upgrades-sound-at-historic-cochran-chapel http://www.designerpub.com.com/projects/integrator-upgrades-sound-at-historic-cochran-chapel Wed, 15 Nov 2017 04:24:00 EST An audio upgrade at Phillips Academy Andover's historic Cochran Chapel poses a number of challenges for integrator Balanced Input. Martin Audio CDD12 speakers prove part of the solution. Ecumenical Bridge of Light Casts Wonder in Worms, Germany http://www.designerpub.com/news/ecumenical-bridge-of-light-casts-wonder-in-worms-germany http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/ecumenical-bridge-of-light-casts-wonder-in-worms-germany Tue, 14 Nov 2017 11:15:00 EST Five hundred years since Martin Luther sparked the Reformation in the German city of Worms, the event is marked by a beam of light between the city's St. Peter's Cathedral and the Luther Church using Elation Professional Proteus Hybrid moving heads. Close Up on Video Displays http://www.designerpub.com/education/close-up-on-video-displays http://www.designerpub.com.com/education/close-up-on-video-displays Mon, 13 Nov 2017 16:12:00 EST An examination of new technologies and contexts that will impact church display specification in 2018. Video Switchers on Demand http://www.designerpub.com/materials/video-switchers-on-demand http://www.designerpub.com.com/materials/video-switchers-on-demand Mon, 13 Nov 2017 15:33:00 EST As ministry needs grow and applications for video switching expand, manufacturers' offerings rise to the challenge. 4K Camera Definitives http://www.designerpub.com/education/4k-camera-definitives http://www.designerpub.com.com/education/4k-camera-definitives Mon, 13 Nov 2017 14:58:00 EST Before your church clients go 4K, here’s what they need to know. A Timeless Bond in a Transient World http://www.designerpub.com/news/maintaining-a-timeless-bond-in-a-transient http://www.designerpub.com.com/news/maintaining-a-timeless-bond-in-a-transient Mon, 13 Nov 2017 14:48:00 EST In refugee camps, houses of worship serve as touchstones that offer grounding to uprooted lives. These structures can be reduced in design, made of affordable materials, and transported where needed.